15 Nigerian Senators leave ruling party APC for the opposition

The ruling All Progressives Congress(APC) is now a minority party in the Nigerian Senate as 15 Senators today announce their defection to opposition parties.

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki after making the announcement this morning adjourned the sitting till September 2018 when the Senate will resume from recess. The Senators who have announced their defection to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) are:

Dino Melaye – Kogi West

Barnabas Gemade – Benue North-East

Ibrahim Danbaba – Sokoto South

Shaaba Lafiagi – Kwara North

Mohammed Shitu – Jigawa North-East

Rafiu Ibrahim – Kwara South

Suleiman Hunkuyi – Kaduna North

Isah Misau – Bauchi Central

Soji Akanbi – Oyo South

Usman Nafada – Gombe North

Rabiu Kwankwaso – Kano-Central

Suleiman Nazif – Bauchi North

Lanre Tejuosho – Ogun Central


Monsurat Sunmonu – Oyo Central

Abdulaziz Nyako – Adamawa Central

This morning, officers of the Nigerian Police Force(NPF) and Department of State Security(DSS) laid siege in front of residences of the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, and Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu allegedly in a bid to prevent them from making it to Nigeria’s National Assembly complex.

According to Sahara Reporters, the Senate President was able to make it to the Senate house and take charge of plenary after driving himself into the National Assembly complex in a private vehicle. With this move, the PDP now has a majority of senators in the upper chambers. Missing on the list of Senators who have dumped the ruling APC is Senator Shehu Sani who has been critical of the manner in which the APC was run.

This new development will have huge ramifications for Nigeria’s politics towards next year’s presidential elections in Nigeria. With the main opposition party PDP now having the majority of Nigeria’s senate, moves to impeach Nigeria’s president Buhari reemerge after the Senate resumes in September. Alternately, this mass defection would also be a boost for PDP towards next year’s presidential election.

Nigeria’s senate president Bukola Saraki would have to defect to PDP too, especially because they are now the majority party in the Senate, or he would be replaced as Senate president.


Read the Full Article Here

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply